If you have a car and want to shift in Florida for living, then it is crucial to know how to register a car in there. You will get 30 days to register your vehicle with the Florida DMV.
But you need to fill up some requirements to become an inhabitant of Florida. In this guide, we cover everything you need to know for registering a vehicle in Florida.
Here, what I am going to cover:
- How to register a car in Florida?
- How much does it cost to register a car in Florida?
- Can I register a car online in Florida?
- How long do you have to register a car in Florida after purchase?
- long does it take to register a car in Florida?
- Much does a tag cost in Florida?
- Can I get a copy of my registration online?
So, let’s get started right here
Who needs to have a Florida Car Registration?
If you want to drive your car in Florida and want to be a resident of there, then you should have a car registration car.
What can you do if you have a car registration car:
- You can admit yourself or your children in a school in Florida
- Can become employed there
- Allow you to establish a living address in Florida
Note: For military personnel and their families, it is not obligatory to fill up or have a Florida car registration.
However, if you are not a resident in Florida, you can also drive your car there. In this case, you need to carry a valid car registration car from another state with you.
How to register a car in Florida?
Here is the step by step guideline you should follow to register a car in Florida.
First, visit the Department of Highway and Safety Motors.
Second, Take your title and ID with you and showcase the proof of FD insurance.
Third, if you haven’t the title or ID, then collect VIN inspection.
Fourth, pay the fees for car registration.
How much does it cost to register a car in Florida?
The cost associate with car registration depends on its size, the weight of the vehicle, and so on. Here is the price list for the registration cost:
If your car never completed a Florida registration, then you need to pay $225. On the other hand, if your car weight is 2499 lbs, then you should pay $27.6 for one year.
For two years, you must pay $55.5. Car, that weight is 2500 to 3499 pounds, then it costs you $35.6 for a year. Two years, you need to spend $71.5.
Can I register a car online in Florida
Unfortunately, you can’t register a car online in Florida. The Florida DMV doesn’t allow you to register a car out of the state or you buy a car online. However, you can register a car online that already registered by your name.
Do you have to register a car in Florida after purchase?
Generally, it depends on where you buy a car in Florida. If you buy a car from a dealer, they take care of everything about the registration.
On the other hand, if you buy a car from a private seller, you need to register your vehicle by yourself. For this, you need to go to DHSMV and complete the registration within 10 days.
How long does it take to register a car in Florida?
According to Florida Law, you should register a car within 30 days if you want to become a resident in Florida. If you have every paper for registering a car, then it takes a day to complete the registration.
On the other hand, if you don’t the essential papers for registering, then it may take 3-5 days to complete the car registration.
How much does a tag cost in Florida
The tag cost in Florida is more complex in comparison with other states. How much money you need to spend depends on vehicle size and weight. For example, it will cost you $22.50 for a truck that weighs is 2499 pounds. However, for a standard passenger car, the base price is $14.5. That means you need to spend only $14.5.
One must know how to register a car in Florida if he wants to be a resident there. At the beginning of this article, I provided step by step guidelines on how to do that. Again, I break down the step by step process to register a car in Florida here.
1st, visit Florida Highway and Safety Motos department.
2nd, carry the title and ID card with you.
3rd, Collect the VIN inspection if you don’t have a title or ID card.
4th, Pay the fees.
If you are registering a new car, it only takes $225. However, the registration fee depends on many factors including the vehicle’s weight and size.
However, if you don’t want to be a resident in Florida, there is no need to get the Florida car registration card. You can drive your car in Florida showing the registration card of the state you live.
This is Caleb Pottebaum founder of AboutTransit.com. I have several blogs and AboutTransit.com is one of them. I love to share my experience on my blogs.